The backstitch HR law blog is a monthly series where we provide the latest updates on upcoming and recently in-effect legislation. Here are short snippets of State, Federal, and Global changes in HR and employment law, so your organization can be prepared for changes this month.
The City of San Francisco has several amendments to the Family Friendly Workplace Ordinance going into effect on July 12. Employees who are employed in San Francisco at their company of 20 or more for six or more months and work at least 8 hours per week can request flexible or predictable work arrangements. This arrangement is for caregiving of children under 18, family members with serious health conditions or parents 65 or older.
The minimum wage in Connecticut raises from $13/hour to $14/hour on July 1.
While most states bring about a more inclusive workplace, Florida is the first state to deliberately become regressive. Florida HB 7, the "Stop WOKE Act", provides limits to diversity, equity and inclusion education and training for both schools and employers. Companies with 15 or more employees are prohibited from requiring training that describes systemic oppression. This went into effect on July 1. However, it should be noted that court challenges to this act are ongoing.
Georgia HB 389 amends the Official Code of Georgia to redefine an employee. It now includes anyone who performs services for wages unless that individual is free from control or direction over the performance of such services. It thereby classifies workers as employees by default, but allows the Department of Labor to make judgements on employment status via a list of qualifications. This technically expands the number of employees in Georgia. The law also adds fines for employers who misattribute employees, and protects those that report such violations from retaliation. The new classification goes into effect on July 1.
The minimum wage in Nevada is increasing from $8.75/hour to $9.50/hour on July 1.
Oregon is another state that is increasing the minimum wage on July 1. However, it is unique in that there are multiple tiers depending on the county. Statewide, it is now $13.50. Instead, the Portland metropolitan area is higher at $14.75, and nonurban counties are lower at $12.50.