Publishing Public and Private Posts

Interested in publishing Posts as “public” or “private” content? Or emailing your Posts with documents as attachments? Follow our easy step-by-step instructions!

Download a PDF version here - backstitch Publishing Public and Private Posts

 

Setting Default File Permissions

 

Step #1: Locate File Permissions Settings

  1. In backstitch Studio, click the Contact Manger section under the dropdown menu in the upper right corner.
  2. Once in Contact Manager, select [Settings]
  3. Locate the File Permissions section. From here, you can establish the default settings for publishing Posts!

 

Step #2: Determine the Default Permissions Settings

  1. Let’s go over the difference between Public and Private Permissions settings:
    • Private: This option only allows users that have access to your App to view the files.
      • If they are opening the file from a Device that is not logged into your App: they are taken to a login screen. Once they have logged in, the fifile permissionsle downloads and is available for viewing.
      • If they are logging in from a Device that is currently logged into the App: no further action is required and the file is available for downloading and viewing immediately.
    • Public: This option allows any users that have access to the link/email to view the files. No login is required. This is a perfect option for newsletters, general information, and upcoming events that users can share with others!

2.  Select preferences for Private or Public file permissions.

3.  Optional: Check the option “When Publishing to Email Include Files as Attachments” for              email attachments.  Documents included in the Post as links for the web App are included as          attachments in the published email. 

    • If this option is checked, the files are available in a hyperlink, as well as a PDF download.  Attachments are not private and can be opened by any recipient who received the email.
    • If this option is not checked, the files are available via a hyperlink displayed in the Post.  Private and public settings apply.

4.  Your default settings for File Permissions for publishing Posts is now set!

 

 

 

Setting File Permissions when Publishing Individual Posts

 

Step #1: Publish the Post

  1. After you have created your Post, you can begin the Publishing process by
     selecting the orange [Publish] arrow in the lower right corner.
  2. Select [Add Contacts]
  3. From here, you can choose how to Publish your Post! Once you have determined the

    recipients, [Close] the Publish window. 

  4. Select the purple [Publish] arrow.

 

Step #2: Determine the File Permissions for this Individual Post

Publish Post
  1. On the Publish Post screen, view the default File Permissions settings.
  2. You can alter the settings for this individual Post by clicking the settings you would like to have.
    Note: This change is only effective for Publishing the Post this one time. If you republish the same Post, it will revert back to the default settings.